STC V.E. Henderson Award


The Henderson Award is given in the name of Dr. Velyien E. Henderson, a former Chairman of the Department of Pharmacology at the University of Toronto. This award was inaugurated by Dr. John D. McColl, one of the six founding members of the Canadian Association for Research on Drugs (CARD). The Henderson award was originally given by Dr. McColl and his wife Pat, who was a niece of Dr. Henderson, but the Society now sponsors the Henderson Award.


The award is designed to honour an individual who has made a significant contribution to the discipline of toxicology in Canada.

Application Process and Candidate Requirements

  1. the candidate must be a Canadian citizen;
  2. the candidate must have less than 15 years experience since obtaining his/her highest degree as of July 1st of the year in which the award will be given;
  3. candidates will be nominated by one ordinary member, in good standing, of the Society who will supply the Secretary with the following:
    • a supporting letter of recommendation; a two-page summary (résumé) which describes the significant contribution(s) of the candidate;
    • a complete curriculum vitae plus a full list of publications, and
    • reprints of not more than five papers best representing the candidate’s research.

Applications should be mailed to the STC mailing address by July 1st.


The suitability of each nominated candidate will be reviewed by the Awards Committee consisting of the Past President (Chair), one Councillor and other ordinary members of the Society nominated by the Past President as required. To ensure that the contribution of each candidate to the discipline of toxicology is appropriately assessed, at least one member of the Selection Committee must have a working knowledge of the area of toxicology in which the candidate is working. When, in the opinion of the Selection Committee, two or more candidates are equally qualified, consideration of their involvement with STC activities might be considered. The decision of the Selection Committee shall be final. Usually, only one award is made annually, but there have been two awards in a single year. However, there is no obligation or duty to make the award when, in the opinion of the Selection Committee, there is no qualified nominee. Once the Selection Committee has completed their deliberations, the Chairperson will report to the Board, who will in turn notify the successful nominee as appropriate. The Awardee will be asked to present a summary of his/her research during the Annual Symposium.

The Award takes the form of an engraved plaque plus a cheque for $500. The award will be presented at the President’s reception. The nominating member of the Society will be invited to introduce the recipient and announce the award. The President will present the award.

The nominating member will be asked to submit the text of the introduction to the Newsletter for publication.

V.E. Henderson Award Winners

Université de Montréal
1969Gabriel L. PlaaUniversité de Montréal
1970-1982No awardees
1983Sam KacewUniversity of Ottawa
1984Jerry F. PayneFisheries and Oceans Canada, St. John’s
1984Robert DugalOlympic Drug Testing Laboratory, INRS, Montreal
1985No awardees
1986Anver D. RahimtulaMemorial University, St. John’s
1987No awardees
1988Larry W. WhitehouseHealth Canada, Ottawa
1989-1993No awardees
1994Thomas E. MasseyQueen’s University, Kingston
1995No awardees
1996P. David JosephyUniversity of Guelph
1997Michel CharbonneauINRS-Institut Armand-Frappier, Université du Québec à Montréal
1997Kannan KrishnanUniversité de Montréal
1998Malle Jurima-RometHealth Protection Branch, Ottawa
1999Gordon KirbyUniversity of Guelph
2000Kannan KrishnanUniversité de Montréal
2001David S. RiddickUniversity of Toronto
2002-2003No awardees
2004Daniel CyrINRS-Institut Armand-Frappier, Université du Québec à Montréal
2005-2006No awardees
2007Louise WinnQueen’s University
2008-2009No awardees
2010Jayadev RajuHealth Canada, Ottawa
2011Jason MatthewsUniversity of Toronto
2010-2015No awardees
2016Dr. Elaine LeslieUniversity of Alberta
2017No awardees