Contributed by William J. Racz, Professor Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Queen’s University

The concept of toxicology as a discipline, distinct from pharmacology, arose as a consequence of the thalidomide-related disaster of the early 1960’s. The consensus among a number of research scientists in Montreal-based pharmaceutical companies was that insufficient attention was being focussed on adverse health effects in animal studies. The founding meeting of the Society, attended by 15 interested scientists, was held on March 3, 1965 in the conference room of the Ayerst, McKenna and Harrison Ltd. Research Laboratories. The societal name, the Canadian Association for Research on Drug Safety (CARDS), was chosen. The initial discussions centred on the organization of a symposium “Preclinical Toxicity Requirements”.

The aims of the Society were developed in the firm belief that the group should not become involved in the endless arguments about government regulations, but should spend its effort being informative, calling on qualified scientists from industry, government as well as basic and clinical scientists from academia to participate. The association was not to be considered as a pressure group for industry, but should be concerned with the scientific problems of toxicology in general. These remain the aims of the present day Society of Toxicology of Canada.

In the intervening years, the association has changed its name twice, first to the Canadian Association for Research in Toxicology (CART), and then in 1979 to the present day Society of Toxicology of Canada (STC). The first formal, annual symposium was held in 1967, entitled “Perinatal Pharmacology and Toxicology”. The annual symposia have remained the main feature of the annual STC meeting usually held in early December. The purposes/aims of STC have not wavered from those of the early association over the 39 years from inception. The membership has climbed steadily from the original 15 to over 300 members, representing industry, government and academia. In addition to hosting the annual symposia on timely topics, STC has played an advocacy role with the preparation of papers on such subjects as the LD50 in toxicity evaluation, status of toxicology in Canada, training programs in toxicology, guidelines for the toxicologist, and a slide program for use in educating the public about toxicology.

Although human toxicology in Canada has become a distinct discipline from pharmacology in industry and government, the two disciplines continue to be intertwined in academia. The majority of toxicology training programs in Canada currently exist within departments of pharmacology and toxicology or schools of veterinary medicine, but there are some notable exceptions. Visiting the STC web site or the web sites of the major universities in Canada can give access to training programs in toxicology. The STC web page contains information on the activities of the Society with links to Society documents, training programs and other societies of toxicology.

english

Origines de la Société de toxicologie du Canada

Publié par William J. Racz, Professeur Département de pharmacologie et toxicologie, Queen’s University

Le concept de la toxicologie comme discipline distincte de la pharmacologie est né à la suite du désastre lié à l’usage de la thalidomide au début des années 1960. Plusieurs chercheurs scientifiques des compagnies pharmaceutiques de Montréal étaient alors d’avis que l’on n’accordait pas assez d’attention aux effets secondaires sur la santé des médicaments lors des essais sur les animaux. Le 3 mars 1965, quinze scientifiques se réunirent dans la salle de conférence des Laboratoires de recherche Ayerst, McKenna & Harrison Ltd. pour fonder l’Association canadienne pour la recherche sur la sécurité des médicaments. Leurs échanges portèrent sur l’organisation d’un symposium intitulé Exigences relatives aux toxicités précliniques.

Soucieux d’éviter toute implication dans les interminables débats entourant la règlementation gouvernementale, le groupe a établi les objectifs de la Société dans une optique d’information, faisant appel à la participation de chercheurs scientifiques qualifiés de l’industrie et des gouvernements, ainsi qu’aux scientifiques œuvrant en recherche fondamentale et clinique dans les universités du pays. L’Association n’entendait pas être un groupe de pression de l’industrie et devait plutôt s’intéresser problèmes scientifiques liés à la toxicologie en général. Ces objectifs demeurent ceux de la Société de toxicologie du Canada.

Depuis, l’organisation a changé de nom à deux reprises pour devenir d’abord l’Association canadienne pour la recherche en toxicologie puis, en 1979, l’actuelle Société de toxicologie du Canada (STC). Le premier symposium annuel officiel de l’Association s’est tenu en 1967 sur le thème Pharmacologie périnatale et toxicologie. Les symposiums annuels continuent d’être la principale activité de la réunion annuelle de la STC qui a généralement lieu au début de décembre. Les objectifs et la raison d’être de la STC n’ont pas changé depuis la fondation de l’Association. Les adhésions n’ont cessé d’augmenter et la Société compte aujourd’hui plus de 300 membres représentant l’industrie, les gouvernements et le milieu universitaire. En plus d’organiser les symposiums annuels sur des sujets pertinents, la STC joue un rôle de défense et promotion dans la rédaction d’articles scientifiques portant des sujets tels que la norme LD50 dans l’évaluation de la toxicité et l’état de la toxicologie au Canada. Elle a aussi participé à l’élaboration de programmes de formation en toxicologie, de lignes directrices pour les toxicologues et d’un diaporama d’information sur la toxicologie destiné au grand public.

Bien que la toxicologie humaine soit devenue une discipline distincte de la pharmacologie au niveau de l’industrie et des gouvernements au Canada, les deux disciplines sont toujours étroitement liées dans nos universités. La plupart des programmes de formation en toxicologie au Canada sont offerts dans les départements de pharmacologie et toxicologie ou les écoles de médecine vétérinaire, sauf quelques exceptions notables. Le site Web de la STC et ceux des principales universités canadiennes donnent accès aux programmes de formation en toxicologie offerts au pays. Le site Web de la STC donne aussi de l’information sur les activités de la Société et propose des liens permettant d’accéder à ses documents, à ses programmes de formation et à d’autres sociétés de toxicologie.

Veuillez noter que le genre masculin est utilisé comme générique, sans aucune intention discriminatoire, aux seules fins d’alléger le texte.