Barbara Hales Award

STC awards
barbara hales


Dr. Barbara Hales is a James McGill Professor in the Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics at McGill University (Montreal). Dr. Hales is a world-renowned expert in developmental and reproductive toxicology, and endocrine disruption. Funded by extra-mural competitive grants, her laboratory research focuses on the effects of house dust mixtures of flame retardants on reproduction and development, the impact of exposure to phthalates and “green” plasticizers on progeny outcome, and approaches towards the responsible replacement of endocrine disrupting chemicals. Dr. Hales has published over 160 journal articles and 45 book chapters. Her laboratory has provided opportunities to graduate students, visiting scholars and postdoctoral fellows, many of whom currently hold diverse positions in different sectors. Dr. Hales has served as President of the Society of Toxicology of Canada (STC) and the Teratology Society and as the Secretary-General of the International Union of Toxicology (IUTOX). Dr. Hales has been bestowed with many awards of distinction, notably the Teratology Society’s Agnish Fellowship Award (2019), and the STC’s Gabriel L. Plaa Award (2008).


The purpose of the Barbara Hales Award is to recognize the accomplishment of a toxicologist affiliated with a Canadian institution for their significant contributions to the field of toxicology over the past 5 years.


The Barbara Hales Award takes the form of an engraved plaque plus a cheque for $500 and will be presented at the Annual Symposium by the President of STC. The awardee will be invited to present a lecture on their research contributions during the Annual Symposium. One nominator will be invited to chair and introduce the awardee at the lecture.


  1. The nominee must be affiliated with a Canadian institution.
  2. The nominee must demonstrate their significant contributions to the field of toxicology during the past 5 years.
  3. Preference to members of the STC will be considered.


Nominations must be made by two regular members of STC; no member may sponsor more than one candidate in any one year. Nominations, sent by the sponsoring members, must be accompanied by:

  1. A one-page summary (Letter paper size/ font size 12), clearly describing the recent contributions (past 5 years) of the nominee to the field of toxicology. Contributions can take the form of publications; presentations; intellectual property; awards; degrees; knowledge translation; policy development; specialized training; strategic employment positions, etc. The one-page summary should include a rationale for considering that these contributions are significant for the field of toxicology.
  2. The nominee’s CV and a brief biographical sketch, suitable for a press release.


Nominations for the award should be submitted to the Chairperson of the Awards Committee via email to by July 1st, 2023. The Chairperson of the Awards Committee will forward the decision to the STC’s Board of Director for ratification by September 1st, 2023.


The Awards Committee is chaired by the Past President and includes a councillor plus two members appointed by the Board from the general membership and who are not members of the Board. The decision of the Awards Committee shall be final. Only one award will be made annually; there is no obligation to make the award when there is no nominee who is deemed to be qualified.